Funding announced for research schools in new opportunity areas

24 January 2017

Speaking to school leaders at a recent event hosted by Pricewaterhouse Coopers and the Sutton Trust, the Education Secretary Justine Greening announced that the government’s ‘opportunity areas’ programme would now be expanded to include a further six opportunity areas. She also announced plans to establish a Research School in each of the 12 opportunity areas.

At present there are no details about when applications will open, but schools in Bradford, Doncaster, Fenland and East Cambridgeshire, Hastings, Ipswich, Stoke-on-Trent, Blackpool, Derby, Norwich, Oldham, Scarborough and West Somerset will soon be able to tender to become a Research School.

Commenting on the announcement, Sir Kevan Collins, Chief Executive of the Education Endowment Foundation, said:

“Improving educational standards in ‘coldspots’ is one of the biggest challenges we face in our drive to improve social mobility. While evidence of ‘what works’ is one of our most useful tools to do this, we know that research on its own is not enough to make a difference in the classroom.

“Our new Research Schools will use their own expertise and experiences to provide strong leadership and guidance to schools in each opportunity area, supporting their colleagues to use research to improve pupil outcomes. No-one is better-placed to support schools in doing this than teachers themselves.”

You can read the DfE press release here.

Posted on 24 January 2017
Posted in: News